Activities

À venir

Il n'y a pas d'événement à venir pour l'instant.


Événements passés

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 30 janvier

Buy-in for Buyouts: Attitudes Toward Compensation for Reforms Vincent Arel-Bundock - Professeur Agrégé à l'Université de Montréal Les réformes politiques sont souvent bloquées par des groupes d'intérêts qui exercent des pressions pour bloquer des changements qui profiteraient à la majorité. Une réponse politique peu étudiée consiste à indemniser le groupe récalcitrant en échange de l'acceptation […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 23 janvier

La performance électorale des partis révolutionnaires  Jean Lachapelle - Professeur Adjoint à l'Université de Montréal Cette présentation analyse les conséquences des révolutions violentes sur la compétition électorale en contexte autoritaire à travers une étude de l’Algérie. Je présente des données inédites sur les affrontements entre les groupes armés et les forces de l’ordre durant la […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 16 janvier

Affective polarization towards voters and parties Ruth Dassonneville - Professeure agrégée à l'Univeristé de Montréal et Romain Lachat - Professeur associé à Sciences Po Paris, CEVIPOF   L'intérêt des politologues pour le thème de la polarisation affective croît rapidement. Alors que les premières recherches sur le sujet se concentraient sur le contexte américain, la polarisation affective […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 7 décembre

Les accents comme facteurs de différentiation au Québec Marc-André Bodet - Université de Laval Il existe une riche littérature à propos de l’impact des caractéristiques physiques ou des symboles religieux sur la construction d’un « Nous » et d’un « Eux » politiques. Trop peu de travaux en science politique s’intéressent cependant aux différents accents […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 30 novembre

Les jeunes sont-ils voués à être des candidats « poteaux » Philippe Chassé - Étudiant au doctorat à l'Université de Montréal et Sciences Po Paris; Camille Gélix, Sciences Po Paris Au cours des dernières années, un certain nombre de travaux (Stockemer et Sundström 2021 ; 2022) ont mis en exergue la nature « gérontocratique » des institutions politiques des démocraties occidentales. […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 23 novembre

Multidimensional Group-level Latent Preferences Elissa Berwick - McGill University Cet article présente un cadre théorique pour estimer les préférences latentes multidimensionnelles et dynamiques au niveau du groupe, même dans des contextes définis par des données rares. Nous démontrons la capacité de notre modèle au niveau du groupe à récupérer les tendances au niveau individuel dans les […] Lire la suite

Activities Billets de blogue

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 22 novembre

Where You Grow Up Shapes Your Political Behavior: Evidence from Childhood Moves Vincent Pons - Havard Business School; Jacob Brown, Enrico Cantoni, Sahil Chinoy, and Martin Koenen Le quartier où un individu a grandi a-t-il un effet persistant sur son identité politique et son comportement électoral à l'âge adulte ? Pour répondre à cette question, […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 16 novembre

Keep your Enemies Closer: Strategic Candidate Adjustments in U.S. and French Elections Caroline Le Pennec-Caldichoury - HEC, Montréal; Rafael Di Tella, Randy Kotti et Vincent Pons Un principe clé de la démocratie représentative est que les politiciens doivent adapter leur discours et leurs politiques aux électeurs qui les élisent. Le théorème de l'électeur médian (MVT) […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 9 novembre

Est-ce que les citoyens votent (ou s’abstiennent) par habitude? Jean-François Daoust - Université de Sherbrooke et André Blais - Université de Montréal Pourquoi certains citoyens votent alors que d’autres s’abstiennent lors d’élections? Une réponse très populaire est que les citoyens votent (ou s’abstiennent) par « habitude ». Ils votent ou ne votent pas car ils […] Lire la suite

Activities News

Séminaire de la Chaire électorale - 2 novembre

Party Prediction for Twitter Kellin Pelrine - Étudiant au doctorat à l'Université McGill Co-Auteurs : Anne Imouza, Gabrielle Desrosiers-Brisebois, Sacha Lévy, Jacob-Junqi Tian, Zachary Yang, Aarash Feizi, Cécile Amadoro, André Blais, Jean-François Godbout and Reihaneh Rabbany Un grand nombre d'études sur les médias sociaux se basent sur des modèles prédictifs pour déduire l'affiliation politique des utilisateurs. […] Lire la suite

Activities

Upcoming

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 26 January

Social norms and electoral participation: doing what is right or doing like everyone else Maxime Coulombe (Université de Montréal) People tend to behave differently, often more in accordance with social norms, when they feel observed or when they know their behavior is monitored or disclosed to others. In political science, Get-Out-To-Voteexperiments have shown how people […] Read more

Past events

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 26 January

Social norms and electoral participation: doing what is right or doing like everyone else Maxime Coulombe (Université de Montréal) People tend to behave differently, often more in accordance with social norms, when they feel observed or when they know their behavior is monitored or disclosed to others. In political science, Get-Out-To-Voteexperiments have shown how people […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 19 January

Can Part ID be a Proxy? The Measure of Party Ideology with Party Identification Nadjim Frechet (Université de Montréal)Maxime Blanchard (McGill University) Many research questions in electoral studies focus directly or indirectly on political parties’ position on specific issues. Unfortunately, parties do not answer surveys. Accordingly, it is much more complex to determine their position […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 3 November

Partisan Semantic Overlaps: Floor-speeches and Ideological Position Benjamin Guinaudeau (University of Konstanz) Estimating the ideological position of Members of Parliaments (MPs) remains a challenge for political scientists. Different approaches have been developed including surveys, roll-call votes and floor speeches. Inspired by the measure of polarization proposed in Peterson and Spirling (2018), we present a new […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 27 October

Message Distortion as a Campaign Strategy: Does Rival Party Distortion of Focal Party Position Affect Voters? Zeynep Somer-Topcu (University of Texas at Austin) Margit Tavits (Washington University in St. Louis) Do voters understand party positions? A growing literature is interested in answering this question but has limited its focus on parties’ own policy messages. In real […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 20 October

Evolution of Party Polarization and Voter Polarization in European Democracies Semih Cakir (Université de Montréal) Traditionally, party competition in established democracies in Europe is mainly structured around the economic cleavage. However, scholars increasingly argue that political conflicts that motivate party competition and mobilize voters have been under transformation. There is growing evidence that party competition […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 13 October

Economic Risks within the Household and Voting for the Radical RightTarik Abou-Chadi (University of Zurich)Thomas Kurer (University of Zurich) This article investigates how unemployment risk within households affects voting for the radical right. Recent advances in the literature demonstrate the role of latent economic threats for understanding the support of radical right parties. We build on […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 6 October

Critical Citizens: the Role of Education on Satisfaction with Democracy across Quality of Democracy.  Jean-François Daoust (University of Edinburgh)André Blais (Université de Montréal) The influential ‘critical citizens’ and ‘postmaterialism’ theories have important implications about how citizens react to democratic governance and their levels of satisfaction with the way democracy works. In this research, we argue […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 29 September

Le Gender Gap dans le Vote d’Extrême Droite en Europe : Opinion Publique et Représentation Jeanne Marlier (Université de Montréal) Un des constats les plus partagés dans la littérature sur le vote d’extrême droite est que les hommes votent plus pour ces partis que les femmes. Cet article contribue à la compréhension de ce gender gap en analysant le vote […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 22 September

The End of Political Clientelism? An Analysis of the Consequences of the July Election in the Dominican Republic Henry Milner (Université de Montréal) Apart from being the country in the Caribbean favoured by Canadian tourists, and the one most affected by the continuing tragedy in Haiti with which it shares the Island of Hispaniola, the Dominican Republic is now of particular interest to students of comparative politics. This is because the result of the election of July 5th, 2020 and the changes it heralds raise the question […] Read more

Activities

Tuesday Seminar – 15 September

How White Identity Shapes Canadian Politics Edana Beauvais (Duke University / Harvard University)Dietlind Stolle (McGill University) White identity is an understudied concept in Canadian politics. In this talk, we describe the contours of Canadian White identity and ask how it shapes White Canadians’ policy preferences and vote choice. We compare the political consequences of White […] Read more