Activities

Séminaire du mardi - 3 novembre

Partisan Semantic Overlaps: Floor-speeches and Ideological Position Benjamin Guinaudeau (University of Konstanz) L'estimation de la position idéologique des membres du Parlement (MP) reste un défi pour les politologues. Différentes approches ont été développées, notamment des sondages, des votes par appel nominal et des discours. Inspirés par la mesure de polarisation proposée dans Peterson et Spirling […] Lire la suite

Activities

Séminaire du mardi - 27 octobre

Message Distortion as a Campaign Strategy: Does Rival Party Distortion of Focal Party Position Affect Voters? Zeynep Somer-Topcu (University of Texas at Austin)Margit Tavits (Washington University in St. Louis)   Les électeurs comprennent-ils les positions des partis? Une littérature de plus en plus désireuse de répondre à cette question, mais qui a limité son attention sur […] Lire la suite

Activities

Séminaire du mardi - 20 octobre

Evolution of Party Polarization and Voter Polarization in European Democracies Semih Cakir (Université de Montréal) Traditionally, party competition in established democracies in Europe is mainly structured around the economic cleavage. However, scholars increasingly argue that political conflicts that motivate party competition and mobilize voters have been under transformation. There is growing evidence that party competition […] Lire la suite

Activities

Séminaire du mardi - 13 octobre

Risque économique au sein des ménages et des votes pour la droite radicale Tarik Abou-Chadi (University of Zurich) Thomas Kurer (University of Zurich)   Cet article examine comment le risque de chômage au sein des ménages affecte le vote pour la droite radicale. Les progrès récents de la littérature démontrent le rôle des menaces économiques […] Lire la suite

Activities

Séminaire du mardi - 6 octobre

Critical Citizens: the Role of Education on Satisfaction with Democracy across Quality of Democracy.  Jean-François Daoust (University of Edinburgh)André Blais (Université de Montréal) Les théories des ‘citoyens critiques’ et du postmatérialisme sont très influentes et impliquent que les citoyens réagissent différemment face à la gouvernance démocratique et que cela affecte leur satisfaction envers la démocratie. […] Lire la suite

Calendar

Il n'y a pas d'événement à venir pour l'instant.

Activities News

Electoral Chair’s Seminar – 27 February

Comparative Public Opinion Polarization in Europe Tadeas Cely-Dartmouth In my presentation, I will show you the most exciting findings from my dissertation research on public opinion polarization in Europe. First, I will argue the differences rooted in religious cultures and the historical church-state conflict best explain why culture wars emerged in some European countries, whereas […] Read more

Activities News

Electoral Chair’s Seminar – 21 February

The Heterogeneity of Social Pressure to Vote in Canada Maxime Coulombe-Western University, Laura French Bourgeois-Western, Allison Harell-UQAM, and Laura Stephenson-Western This study investigates the prevalence, influence, and heterogeneity of social pressure to vote in Canada, addressing a gap in the existing literature primarily focused on the United States. Utilizing data from diverse surveys, including the […] Read more

Activities News

Electoral Chair’s Seminar – 31 January

Who Accepts Party Policy Change? The Individual-Level Determinants of Policy Change Acceptance Ruth Dassonneville-Université de Montréal, Maurits Meijers-Radboud University Experimental research has shown that political parties often, but not always, suffer reputational costs when they change their policy positions. Yet, it is not clear who accepts and who rejects party policy change. Using newly collected […] Read more